The Institute of Plasma Physics and Laser Microfusion in Warsaw was established in 1976. The programme of research in the Institute is under the control and financial support of the Ministry of Science and Higher Education in Poland.

The Institute of Plasma Physics and Laser Microfusion carries out basic plasma physics studies and its implementation in the area of magnetic confinement fusion, inertial confinement fusion, and pulsed high power technology. Most research and technology related projects are carried out within international cooperation in the framework of the fusion programme of Euratom Community, HiPER project and other European projects.

The IPPLM contains three Departments: 


Head of Department: Dr hab. Maryna Chernyshova

Head of Department: Piotr Czarkowski 

Head of Department: Dr Marcin Rosiński  

HiPER fusionForEnergyLogo logo EUROfusion iter Laserlab Europe Fusenet European Commission Logo MEiN

Research projects carried out at the IPPLM are funded by the Polish Ministry of Education and Science, the National Science Centre and by the European Commission within the framework of EUROfusion Consortium under grant agreement No 633053. Financial support comes also from the International Atomic Energy Agency, European Space Agency and LaserLab Consortium as well as from the Fusion for Energy Agency.

Go to top